Georges Jouve (1910-1964)

Georges Jouve is one of the most important ceramists of the 20th century. Inspired by the ancestral traditions of pottery in Provence, he is known for his unique techniques and imaginative concepts. We can find among his most remarkable works cylindrical vases, but also all kinds of lamps and elaborate mirrors.

Show full biography

Georges Jouve, his origins

Georges Jouve was born in 1910 in Fontenay-sous-Bois in France. His parents were both decorators. His family encouraged him to pursue a career in architecture and mural decoration. At the age of 17, he enrolled in the prestigious “École Boulle” where he received a theoretical education in art history, although he was mainly trained as a sculptor. During his study, he acquired the nickname “Apollon”, which he kept later on. In 1929, he finally obtained his diploma. He continued to take courses of several free academies of painting (Jullian and Grande Chaumière).

His career

After graduating, Georges Jouve starts a career as a theater decorator which will be interrupted by the beginning of the Second World War. He is taken prisoner by the Germans very early in the war. Jouve escapes in 1943. Of Mediterranean origin, he decides to take refuge in Dieulefit until the war is over. It is in this small Provencal village of Potters, that he discovers the art of ceramics.

In 1944, Jouve returns to Paris where he sets up his studio on “rue de la Tombe-Issoire”. Then, his creations distanced from traditional pottery to give space to personal and decorative works, inspired by the aesthetics of the 1940s. For 9 years, he never stopped exploring shapes, colors and uses. He approached both monumental ceramics and shaped pieces (vases, ashtrays, chalices, etc).

French architect and designer Jacques Adnet (1900-1984) invites Jouve to work with him. He regularly participated in the “Salons de l’Imagerie and des Artistes Décorateurs” (Imaging and Decorative Artists Salons), as well as in important exhibitions presented by the “Ministry of National Education” in Rio de Janeiro in 1946, in Barcelona and Vienna in 1947, in Milan and Helsinki in 1948, and finally in Cairo and Rome in 1950. In 1947, he also won a silver medal for a wall covering at the “Exposition de l’Urbanisme” (Urban Expo) in Paris.

In 1954, Georges Jouve left Paris to settle at Le Pigonnet in Aix-en-Provence. His work then evolves towards simplified and smooth forms, with monochrome enamels, characteristic of the ceramics of the 1950s. His works are presented at the La Demeure gallery and Steph Simon’s in Paris.

Georges Jouve died in March 1964. The gallery La Demeure organized a large posthumous retrospective exhibition called “tribute to Jouve, 20 years of ceramics” the following year.

By sending us your email, you agree that the information is used in accordance with our data protection policy.

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2020

Georges Jouve (1910-1964)

Georges Jouve est l’un des plus importants céramistes du XXᵉ siècle. S’inspirant des traditions ancestrales de la poterie en Provence, il se fait connaître pour ses techniques uniques et ses concepts imaginatifs. Parmi ces travaux les plus remarquables, on retrouve des vases cylindriques, des cendriers et des bols, mais aussi des lampes, des pieds de lampe et des appliques ou encore des miroirs au cadre travaillé.

Georges Jouve 2
Afficher la biographie complète

Georges Jouve, ses origines

Georges Jouve est né en 1910 à Fontenay-sous-Bois en France de parents tous deux décorateurs. Il est ainsi poussé par sa famille à poursuivre une carrière vers l’architecture et la décoration murale. À 17 ans, il s’inscrit à la prestigieuse École Boulle où il reçoit une éducation théorique en histoire de l’art, mais il s’y forme surtout au métier de sculpteur. Pendant, ces années d’études il acquiert le surnom d’Apollon, qui lui restera. C’est en 1929 qu’il obtient enfin son diplôme. Il continuera à suivre les cours de plusieurs académies libres de peintures (Jullian et Grande Chaumière).

Son Parcours

Après l’obtention de son diplôme, Georges Jouve démarre une carrière de décorateur de théâtre qui sera interrompue par le début de la seconde guerre mondiale. Il est d’ailleurs fait prisonnier par les Allemands dès les premières heures de l’affrontement. Jouve s’évade en 1943. D’origine méditerranéenne, il décide de se réfugier à Dieulefit jusqu’à la libération. C’est dans ce petit village provençal de Potiers, qu’il découvre l’art de la céramique.

En 1944, Jouve retourne à Paris où il installe son atelier rue de la Tombe-Issoire. Ses créations s’éloignent alors de la poterie traditionnelle pour laisser place à des œuvres personnelles et décoratives, inspirées de l’esthétique des années 1940. Durant 9 ans, il ne cessera d’explorer les formes, les couleurs et les usages. Il aborde à la fois la céramique monumentale et les pièces de formes (vases, cendrier, calices, etc).

Jacques Adnet (1900-1984), architecte et designer français, fait appel à ses talents. Il participe alors régulièrement aux Salons de l’Imagerie et des Artistes Décorateurs, ainsi qu’à d’importantes expositions présentées par le Ministère de l’Éducation Nationale à Rio de Janeiro en 1946, à Barcelone et Vienne en 1947, à Milan et Helsinki en 1948, et enfin au Caire et à Rome en 1950. En 1947, il obtient également une médaille d’argent pour un revêtement mural à l’Exposition de l’Urbanisme à Paris.

En 1954, Georges Jouve quitte Paris pour s’installer au Pigonnet à Aix-en-Provence. Son œuvre évolue alors vers des formes simplifiées et lisses, aux émaux monochromes, caractéristiques de la céramique des années 1950. Ses pièces sont présentées à la galerie La Demeure et chez Steph Simon à Paris.

Georges Jouve décède en mars 1964. La galerie La Demeure organise alors une grande exposition rétrospective posthume « hommage à Jouve, 20 ans de céramique », l’année suivante.

En nous envoyant votre email, vous acceptez que les informations soient utilisées en accord avec notre politique de protection des données.

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2020