André Borderie (1923-1998)

André Borderie was a contemporary french artist. Initially, not destined to become an artist, he was gifted with an artistic sensibility. He had a revelation while discovering the work of Paul Klee in 1939. He developed his talents around painting, sculpture, ceramics and tapestry. Throughout his career, he invented forms directly related to plasticity, a property inherent to matter. André Borderie created works that are architectural, uncluttered, often slightly asymmetrical, off-centre; in a word, sensitive.

Show full biography

His origins

André Borderie was born in 1923 in the Bordeaux area. After technical training, he graduated in 1942. Then, he began his career as a state employee in telecommunications. He kept from Paul Klee his lessons in modern art and more particularly his graphic freedom, which aspired him to become an artist. In 1945, he met the poster artist Paul Colin, who would lead him towards painting. It is thanks to him that Borderie finally embarked on an artistic career.

His career

In 1946, in his quest for freedom, he met a couple of ceramists, Pierre and Vera Székely, in Vienna, Austria. In 1948, the three of them settled in France in Bures-sur-Yvettes, then in Marcoussis in the Chevreuse valley in 1955. This community experience truly marked a milestone in his career. André Borderie discovered ceramic work with them. Together they produced an important body of work.

In 1953, they designed the ”sculpture-fountain” for the basin of the residence Muette, rue Blanche in the 16ᵉ district of Paris. The following year, they created one of their most striking artistic creation, in collaboration with architect Louis Babinet : the “Bateau Ivre”, a large ceramic mural fresco that links the interior and exterior of the house.

In the mid-50s, André Borderie refined his style. He developed a colourful palette of blues, reds and oranges, which later would be replaced by blacks and beiges. He worked with a chamotte clay with a granular aspect, the decorations are formed by shiny enamels often on a matt background, or engraved directly on the glaze.

One of André Borderie‘s major preoccupations was to incorporate art into life. Thus, in 1955, he joined the groupe Espace, led by André Bloc. In 1957, he left the Székely couple and moved to Senlis where he continued to produce pieces, with generous shapes like his famous ” Têtes lumineuses “ (trans. Luminous heads). In 1961, he called upon another ceramist, André-Aleth Masson, to help him produce large-scale pieces. Together they created a huge black enamelled bas-relief in ceramic for the EDF head office (French public power company) in La Défense.

The emergence of the biomorphic forms of the period are evocative of André Borderie’s plastic research, which also extended to painting and tapestry. He exhibited mainly at the Colette Allendy Gallery, known for having displayed, among others, Yves Klein, François Morellet and members of the Cobra group.

The end of the 50s is marked by André Borderie‘s interest in tapestry. Encouraged by Denise Majorel, co-director of the gallery La Demeure, he excelled in this new medium and received in 1962 the great Prix national de la Tapisserie.”(Great National Tapestry Award). That same year, he took part in the iconic exhibition ” L’objet – Antagonismes 2″, at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs, under the aegis of François Mathey. André Borderie presented on this occasion a granite coat rack and a light fixture in expanded polyester.

André Borderie kept creating until the end of the 70s and has been represented throughout his career by the MAI gallery. The man for whom “the size of a work does not depend on its size, but on the energy it generates” died in 1998. Throughout his career, he participated in the revival of French ceramics.

Works

By sending us your email, you agree that the information is used in accordance with our data protection policy.

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2020

André Borderie (1923-1998)

Artiste contemporain français, André Borderie n’était pas destiné à devenir un artiste. Doté d’une sensibilité artistique, il a une révélation en découvrant le travail de Paul Klee en 1939. Il développe ses talents autour de la peinture, de la sculpture, de la céramique et de la tapisserie. Tout au long de sa carrière, il invente des formes directement liées à la plasticité, propriété inhérente à la matière. André Borderie créé des œuvres architecturées, dépouillées, souvent légèrement asymétriques, décentrées ; en un mot sensibles.

Afficher la biographie complète

André Borderie, ses origines

André Borderie est né en 1923 dans la région de Bordeaux. Après une formation technique, il est diplômé en 1942. Il commence alors sa carrière en tant que fonctionnaire comme inspecteur adjoint aux télécommunications. Il retiendra de Paul Klee ses leçons d’art moderne et plus particulièrement sa liberté graphique qui l’aspirera à devenir un artiste. En 1945, il rencontre l’affichiste Paul Colin qui l’orientera vers la peinture. C’est grâce à lui que Borderie se lance enfin dans une carrière artistique.

Son parcours

Dans sa quête de liberté, il rencontre en 1946 un couple de céramistes, Pierre et Vera Székely, à Vienne en Autriche. Dès 1948, ils s’installent tous les trois en France à Bures-sur-Yvettes, puis à Marcoussis dans la vallée de Chevreuse en 1955. Cette expérience communautaire marque véritablement un jalon dans sa carrière. André Borderie découvre avec eux le travail de la céramique. Ils réalisent ensemble un corpus d’œuvres important.

En 1953, ils créent la sculpture-fontaine pour le bassin de la résidence Muette, rue Blanche dans le 16ᵉ arrondissement de Paris. L’année suivante, ils réaliseront une de leurs créations artistiques les plus marquantes, en collaboration avec l’architecte Louis Babinet : le Bateau Ivre, une grande fresque murale en céramique qui fait le lien entre l’intérieur et l’extérieur de la maison.

Vers le milieu des années 1950, André Borderie peaufine son style. Il met au point sa palette chamarrée de couleurs bleus, rouges, oranges, qui plus tard laissera place à des noirs et beiges. Il travaille une terre chamottée à l’aspect granuleux où les décors sont formés par des émaux brillants souvent sur fonds mats, ou gravés directement sur l’engobe.

L’une des préoccupations majeurs d’André Borderie est d’intégrer l’art dans la vie. Il rejoint ainsi le groupe Espace, mené par André Bloc en 1955. En 1957, il quitte le couple Székely et s’installe à Senlis où il continue à produire des pièces, de formes généreuses à l’instar de ses fameuses « Têtes lumineuses ». Dès 1961, il fait appel à un autre céramiste, André-Aleth Masson, pour l’aider à la réalisation de pièces d’envergure. Ils réaliseront notamment ensemble un gigantesque bas-relief en céramique émaillée noire pour le siège social d’EDF à La Défense.

L’éclosion des formes biomorphiques de l’époque rappellent les recherches plastiques d’André Borderie qui s’étendent aussi à la peinture et à la tapisserie. Il expose notamment à la galerie Colette Allendy, réputée pour avoir exposé entre autres Yves Klein, François Morellet ou encore des membres du groupe Cobra.

La fin des années 1950 est marquée par l’intérêt d’André Borderie pour la tapisserie. Encouragé par Denise Majorel, co-directrice de la galerie La Demeure, il excelle dans ce nouveau médium et reçoit en 1962 le grand Prix national de la Tapisserie. Cette même année, il participe à la mythique exposition « L’objet – Antagonismes 2 », au musée des Arts Décoratifs, sous l’égide de François Mathey. André Borderie présente à cette occasion un porte-manteau en granit et un luminaire en polyester expansé.

Sa fin de carrière

Notre créateur polymorphe créé jusqu’à la fin des années 1970 et sera représenté durant toute sa carrière par la galerie MAI. Celui pour qui « la taille d’une œuvre ne tient pas à sa taille, mais à l’énergie qu’elle génère », s’éteint en 1998. Il aura durant toute sa carrière participé au renouveau de la céramique française.

Œuvres

En nous envoyant votre email, vous acceptez que les informations soient utilisées en accord avec notre politique de protection des données.

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2020