Pierre Paulin (1927-2009)

Pierre Paulin was a French designer born in 1927 in Paris. He was trained at the Ecole Camondo and had as professor Maxime Old. The latter recommended him to Marcel Gascoin. So, Paulin joined the workshop of this UAM co-founder. From 1953 Pierre Paulin designed furniture.

Afficher la biographie complète

His father helped him and financed him when Paulin did not find a producer. This aid allowed him to exhibit his creations at the Salon des Arts Ménagers where his work was noticed. He collaborated with the firm Thonet, and then with the Dutch company, Artifort. This collaboration gave him the opportunity to follow his research on technical and formal aspect while using new materials. This complicity ended in 1975. Most of the pieces from this period are iconic.
In the same time, Pierre Paulin developped also his activity as interior archictect. His ecounter with Jean Coural in 1967, manager of the Mobilier National, was decisive for his carreer. Coural introduced him to the Presidencial couple Pompidou for the refurbishment of the Elysée Palace.

Works

By sending us your email, you agree that the information is used in accordance with our data protection policy.

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2020

Pierre Paulin (1927-2009)

Pierre Paulin est un designer français né en 1927 à Paris. Il suit un enseignement à l’école Camondo et a alors comme professeur Maxime Old. Ce dernier le recommande auprès de Marcel Gascoin. Paulin intègre alors l’atelier de l’un des créateurs de l’UAM.
Dès 1953 Pierre Paulin dessine du mobilier. Alors qu’il ne trouve pas d’éditeur, son père le finance ce qui lui permet d’exposer au Salon des Artistes Ménagers où son travail est remarqué. Il collabore avec Thonat puis avec l’entreprise hollandaise Artifort. Cette collaboration lui permet de poursuivre ses recherches sur la forme et la technique tout en utilisant de nouveaux matériaux. Cette complicité dure jusqu’en 1975. Les pièces de cette période deviennent iconiques.
En parallèle Pierre Paulin développe aussi une activité d’architecte d’intérieur. La rencontre avec Jean Coural en 1967, administrateur du Mobilier National va être déterminante pour la suite de sa carrière. C’est lui qui le présente au couple Pompidou pour l’aménagement du Palais de l’Elysée.

Œuvres

En nous envoyant votre email, vous acceptez que les informations soient utilisées en accord avec notre politique de protection des données.

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2020