Marc Nicolas Du Plantier (1901-1975)

Marc Nicolas du Plantier was a creator with a great culture which followed the decorative arts tradition. Seeking the perfection of shapes, Marc du Plantier created in a neoclassical style. Painter, decorator, furniture designer, sculptor of iron lights forged by himself, Marc du Plantier renewed his propositions and never forgot his quest of Beauty.

Afficher la biographie complète

Painter, decorator, furniture designer, sculptor of iron lamps, Marc Du Plantier is considered one of the most gifted artists of his time. An emblematic figure of the 1940s, the designer was a creator with a great culture which followed the decorative arts traditions. In his quest for beauty and perfection, he marked his time in a neoclassical style.

Marc Du Plantier, His origins

Marc Du Plantier was born in 1901 in Madagascar. He did not intend to become a decorator right away. He first specialized in mathematics and enters the preparatory course of the polytechnic school. He quickly turned to architecture, joining the Paris School of Fine Arts in 1922. Du Plantier followed Gabriel Héraud‘s teachings there, but he was also interested in painting at the Julian Academy where he received lessons from the painter Paul Albert Laurens. He began his professional career in the fashion industry for the Jenny and Jacques Doucet fashion houses. He did not move towards the profession of decorator-assembler until 1928.

His Career

After an experience as a theatre set designer, then in fashion, the decorator revealed his first production to the public in 1932. The same year, he moved with his wife into a flat at 14 boulevard Suchet, Paris, which he had decorated himself. The Parisian press reported the evening when Marc Du Plantier received the intelligentsia of the City of Lights to show them his sumptuous decor.

Marc Du Plantier was surrounded by intellectuals and artists. Among them, Joseph Csaky whom some works were exhibited in his flats. This was the beginning of Marc Du Plantier‘s notoriety, and he was already producing pieces that were described as elegant and magical. Yves Badetz, author of the monograph devoted to the artist, said that he shared “the sensitivity of the poet, the accuracy of the architect, the fantasy of the artist and the elegance of the man of the world”.

In 1936, the Du Plantier family moved to Boulogne-Billancourt, which in the recent years had become a veritable laboratory of modern architecture. That year, he took part in the “Formes d’architecture” exhibition at the Art & Industry gallery, organized by Waldemar George. He then exhibited his works alongside those of Paule Marrot, Bolette Natanson, André Arbus, Jean-Michel Frank, Max Ingrand and Gilbert Poillerat.

In 1939, he attended the “Salon des Artistes Décorateurs” (Artist-Decorator Show) for the first time, where he presented a bedroom. That event was a milestone in his career. At the dawn of the WWII, he left for Spain where he was asked to decorate the residence of the Count and Countess of Elda in Madrid. He stayed there for ten years. Du Plantier took part in the Salon again in 1949, when he came back to Paris.

In 1961, thanks to his meeting with Countess Florence de Montferrier, Marc Du Plantier left for Mexico. The “Artedécor” adventure then began. In November 1962, Du Plantier opened his gallery with a magnificent presentation of wrought iron lights. He surrounded himself with the best craftsmen for the manufacture of these pieces. This two-year Mexican experience aroused a certain enthusiasm from the public, which however did not live up to the designer’s expectations.

Then, the artist went to Los Angeles and exhibited at the Design Center for two months (June to August 1964). All the press saluted his talent. Du Plantier then opened a gallery on La Cienega Boulevard. It was a time that marked the designer’s creation, which reflects the artist’s sensitivity and his search for a complete aesthetic project. Of great modernity, these pieces, notably in wrought iron, reflect the artist’s creative vitality.

In 1966, he returned to France for good and continued to deliver his refined pieces until his death in 1975.

Works

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

Marc Nicolas Du Plantier (1901-1975)

Marc Nicolas Du Plantier est un créateur d’une grande culture qui s’inscrit dans la tradition des arts décoratifs. A la recherche de la perfection des formes, Marc Du Plantier crée dans un style néoclassique. Peintre, décorateur, concepteur de meuble, sculpteur de luminaires en fer qu’il forge souvent lui-même, Marc Du Plantier renouvelle sans cesse ses propositions sans jamais perdre de vue sa quête de beauté.

Afficher la biographie complète

Peintre, décorateur, concepteur de meuble, sculpteur de luminaires en fer, Marc Du Plantier est considéré comme l’un des artistes les plus douées de son époque. Figure emblématique des années 1940, le designer est un créateur d’une grande culture qui s’inscrit dans la tradition des arts décoratifs. En quête de beauté et de perfection, il marqua son temps dans un style néoclassique.

Marc Du Plantier, Ses origines

Marc Du Plantier est né en 1901 à Madagascar. Il ne se destine pas à la décoration tout de suite. Il se spécialise d’abord en mathématique et entre au cours préparatoire de l’Ecole Polytechnique. Rapidement, il se tourne vers l’architecture en intégrant en 1922 l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Du Plantier y suit les enseignements de Gabriel Héraud, mais s’intéresse aussi à la peinture à l’Académie Julian où il reçoit les leçons du peintre Paul Albert Laurens. Il débute sa carrière professionnelle dans l’industrie de la mode pour les maisons de couture Jenny et Jacques Doucet. Il ne se dirige vers le métier de décorateur ensemblier qu’en 1928.

Son parcours

Après une expérience comme dessinateur de décors de théâtre, puis pour la mode, le décorateur révèle sa première réalisation au public en 1932. La même année, il s’installe avec sa femme dans l’appartement du 14 boulevard Suchet, Paris, qu’il a lui-même décoré. La presse parisienne relate d’ailleurs cette soirée où Marc Du Plantier reçoit l’intelligentsia de la ville lumière pour leur faire découvrir son somptueux décor.

Marc Du Plantier est en effet entouré d’un cercle d’intellectuels et d’artistes. On y compte notamment Joseph Csaky dont certaines réalisations sont exposées dans ses appartements. C’est alors le début de la notoriété pour Marc Du Plantier qui produit déjà des œuvres qualifiées d’élégantes et féériques. Yves Badetz, auteur de la monographie consacrée à l’artiste dit de lui qu’il partage « la sensibilité du poète, la justesse de l’architecte, la fantaisie de l’artiste et l’élégance de l’homme du monde ».

En 1936, la famille Du Plantier déménage à Boulogne-Billancourt devenu depuis quelques années un véritable laboratoire de l’architecture moderne. Cette année-là, il participe à l’exposition « Formes d’architecture » à la galerie Art & Industrie, organisée par Waldemar George. Il expose alors ses réalisations aux côtés de celles de Paule Marrot, Bolette Natanson, André Arbus, Jean-Michel Frank, Max Ingrand, Gilbert Poillerat.

En 1939, il participe pour la première fois au Salon des Artistes Décorateurs où il présente une chambre à coucher. Cela marquera un jalon dans sa carrière. À l’aube de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il part pour l’Espagne où il est pressenti pour décorer la demeure du comte et de la comtesse de Elda à Madrid. Il restera pendant dix ans. Il participe de nouveau à ce salon en 1949, lorsqu’il revient vivre à Paris.

En 1961, à la faveur de sa rencontre avec la Comtesse Florence de Montferrier, Marc Du Plantier part pour le Mexique. L’aventure Artedécor démarre alors. En novembre 1962, Du Plantier ouvre sa galerie avec une magnifique présentation de luminaires en fer forgé. Il s’est entouré des meilleurs artisans pour la fabrication de ces pièces. Cette expérience mexicaine de deux ans suscite un certain engouement qui n’est cependant pas à la hauteur des attentes du créateur.

L’artiste part alors à Los Angeles et expose au Design Center pendant deux mois (de juin à août 1964). Toute la presse salue son talent. Du Plantier ouvre alors une galerie sur La Cienega Boulevard. Cette période qui marque profondément la création du designer reflète à merveille la sensibilité de l’artiste et sa recherche de projet esthétique complet. D’une grande modernité, ces pièces, notamment en fer forgé reflètent la vitalité créatrice de l’artiste.

En 1966, il rentre en France définitivement et continuera à livrer ses pièces épurées jusqu’à sa mort en 1975.

Œuvres

En nous envoyant votre email, vous acceptez que les informations soient utilisées en accord avec notre politique de protection des données.

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2020