Jean-Michel Frank

Born in Paris in 1895, Jean- Michel Frank was exposed to the horrors of the First World War when still a child.

Disposing of a considerable fortune, he was drawn to the high intellectual circles to be found in Paris when the war ended, meeting some of the most famous people of the time, many of whom became faithful clients.

Having studied law in order to enter the world of finance, he decided this course was not for him, and in 1921 began his career as an interior designer. His first projects were for his friends Pierre Drieu la Rochelle and Charles Peignot.

Afficher la biographie complète

Born in Paris in 1895, Jean- Michel Frank was exposed to the horrors of the First World War when still a child.

Disposing of a considerable fortune, he was drawn to the high intellectual circles to be found in Paris when the war ended, meeting some of the most famous people of the time, many of whom became faithful clients.

Having studied law in order to enter the world of finance, he decided this course was not for him, and in 1921 began his career as an interior designer. His first projects were for his friends Pierre Drieu la Rochelle and Charles Peignot.

From the outset, the formal simplicity of his style and his use of original materials set him apart from his contemporaries. Frank banished objects from his interiors, which he furnished using only the purest, almost monastic, pieces of furniture. His work came to the attention of Charles and Marie-Laure de Noailles, whose architect advised them to involve him in the decoration of their town house in Paris in 1925. Completed in 1926, this project figured in an edition of Art et Industrie the following year. From this point on, Jean-Michel Frank was acknowledged as one of the great Parisian interior designers.

Commissions flew in, issued by celebrities such as the designer Elsa Schiaparelli, the industrialist Robert Chevalier, the composer Cole Porter, and Nelson Rockefeller in New York.

Working with the company Chanaux to create his furniture, Jean-Michel Frank also engaged artists to design exceptional pieces for his interiors. The first artist to work with him was the sculptor Henri Laurens, who mainly created pieces in metal.

Alberto Giacometti, who he met in 1928, chiefly made bronze lights and plaster vases with a white or black glaze, and the painter Christian Bérard designed motifs that were transposed onto carpets or hangings. The architects Emilio Terry and Paul Rodocanachi were also involved.

Jean-Michel Frank drew from their multiple talents, selecting and commissioning the most modern pieces to furnish his pure, uncluttered settings. In his interiors, walls were lined with parchment, leather, or simply whitewashed; seats were strict, with a neoclassical feel; his U-shaped tables were inlaid with ivory or mica; straw marquetry screens united the whole. Frank probably discovered the surrealist painter Salvador Dali in 1930 at a dinner party at the Noailles’. Their collaboration notably resulted in screens decorated by the painter, which were presented in Frank’s boutique when it opened in 1935, rue du Faubourg-Saint- Honoré. The famous mouth-shaped ‘Mae West’ sofa also resulted from their collaboration, as did the striking wooden standing lamp decorated with gold leaf. This lamp even figured in Jorge Born’s house in Buenos Aires, one of the last and best-known projects Jean-Michel Frank accomplished.

This interior is considered one of the most perfect actualisations of the designer’s aesthetic. Here, he united pieces by his many collaborators: a large drawing room, lined with parchment, contains lights and vases by Giacometti, a few chairs by Rodocanachi and carpets designed by Bérard. The smoking room draws together pieces by Terry and Giacometti, and a screen decorated by Salvador Dali. The leather-panelled library is punctuated by a number of lamps, including the wooden standing lamp designed by Salvador Dali.

When Frank returned to France, war had been declared against Germany and Chanaux & Co. had to close. In 1940, he left France for Buenos Aires, where he became artistic director of the company Comté.

In 1941, he went to New York, most probably for professional reasons. Deeply troubled by news of the war that had broken out, he killed himself by throwing himself from a building.

 

Œuvres

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2018

Jean-Michel Frank

Né en 1895 à Paris, Jean- Michel Frank connaît les affres de la première guerre mondiale dès son plus jeune âge.

Au sortir de la guerre, Frank, qui dispose de moyens financiers importants, s’intègre rapidement aux milieux mondains et intellectuels parisiens. Il y rencontre les personnalités les plus en vue de l’époque, qui feront partiede ses premiers et plus fidèles clients.

Tout d’abord formé au droit pour entrer dans le monde de la finance, Jean- Michel Frank choisit finalement de s’orienter, dès 1921, vers la décoration d’intérieur. Ses premiers chantiers sont consacrés à ses amis Pierre Drieu la Rochelle et Charles Peignot.

Afficher la biographie complète

Né en 1895 à Paris, Jean- Michel Frank connaît les affres de la première guerre mondiale dès son plus jeune âge.

Au sortir de la guerre, Frank, qui dispose de moyens financiers importants, s’intègre rapidement aux milieux mondains et intellectuels parisiens. Il y rencontre les personnalités les plus en vue de l’époque, qui feront partiede ses premiers et plus fidèles clients.

Tout d’abord formé au droit pour entrer dans le monde de la finance, Jean- Michel Frank choisit finalement de s’orienter, dès 1921, vers la décoration d’intérieur. Ses premiers chantiers sont consacrés à ses amis Pierre Drieu la Rochelle et Charles Peignot.

Son style, d’une simplicité formelle et l’utilisation de matériaux originaux le démarquent de ses contemporains. Frank choisit de bannir l’objet de ses intérieurs, en ne laissant que des pièces de mobilier aux lignes pures, presque monacales. Remarqué par les collectionneurs Charles et Marie- Laure de Noailles et sur les conseils de leur architecte, ces derniers font appel au jeune décorateur en 1925 pour l’aménagement de leurs salons dans leur hôtel particulier parisien. Terminé en 1926, cet aménagement fait l’objet d’une publication importante l’année suivante par Art et Industrie. Jean- Michel Frank fait à présent partie des grands décorateurs parisiens.

Les commandes s’enchainent auprès de personnalités telles que la créatrice Elsa Schiaparelli, l’industriel Robert Chevalier, le compositeur Cole Porter, Nelson Rockefeller à New York…

Associé aux établissement Chanaux pour la conception de son mobilier, Jean-Michel Frank s’attache également des artistes auprès desquels il commande des pièces d’exception pour ses aménagements : le premier artiste à collaborer avec Frank est le sculpteur Henri Laurens avec des pièces principalement en métal.

Alberto Giacometti, qu’il rencontre en 1928, crée pour lui principalement des luminaires en bronze et des vases en plâtre, patinés blanc, or ou noir. Le peintre Christian Bérard dessine pour Frank des motifs ensuite transposés sur des tapis ou des tapisseries. Les architectes Emilio Terry et Paul Rodocanachi font également partie de l’aventure.

Jean-Michel Frank se pose alors comme chef d’orchestre, plaçant ainsi ces œuvres résolument modernes dans ses intérieurs dépouillés, d’une simplicité parfaite. Les murs sont gainés de parchemin, de cuir ou blanchis à la chaux, les sièges sont stricts, à tendance néoclassique, les tables en forme de U sont plaquées d’ivoire ou de mica et des paravents en marqueterie de paille rythment l’ensemble. Jean- Michel rencontre le peintre surréaliste Salvador Dali probablement en 1930 lors d’un diner chez les Noailles. Leur collaboration voit naitre principalement des paravents décorés par le peintre, que l’on retrouve dans la boutique de Frank rue du Faubourg-Saint- Honoré dès son ouverture en 1935. Le célèbre canapé « Mae West » en forme de bouche est également le fruit de leur collaboration, ainsi que notre lampadaire en bois doré à la feuille, d’une grande pureté de forme. On retrouve ce même lampadaire en 1939 dans l’intérieur de Jorge Born à Buenos Aires, qui est l’un des derniers et des plus importants chantiers de Jean- Michel Frank.

Cet aménagement, considéré comme l’état le plus achevé de l’esthétique du décorateur, réuni des œuvres de l’ensemble de ses collaborateurs : dans un grand salon aux murs gainés de

parchemin, sont placés des luminaires et des vases de Giacometti, quelques sièges de Rodocanachi et des tapis exécutés sur des cartons de Bérard. Le fumoir renferme des pièces de Terry, Giacometti, ainsi qu’un des paravents dessinés par Salvador Dali. Enfin, dans la bibliothèque présentant des lambris en cuir, quelques luminaires ponctuent l’espace, dont le lampadaire en bois doré dessiné par Salvador Dali.

A son retour en France, la guerre est déclarée contre l’Allemagne. La société Chanaux & Cie doit fermer ses portes. En 1940 Jean-Michel Frank quitte la France pour s’installer à Buenos Aires, où il prend la direction artistique de la société Comté.

En 1941 il se rend à New York, sans doute pour des raisons professionnelles. Désespéré face à l’annonce de cette nouvelle guerre Frank se donne la mort en se jetant d’un building.

Œuvres

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2017