Giuseppe Scapinelli (1891 – 1982)

Giuseppe Scapinelli was born in Modène in 1911. From a noble Italian family, he qualified as an architect in 1941. In 1948 he left Italy for São Paulo and worked as an architect for Francesco Matarazzo, an Italian/Brazilian businessman who in 1946 had founded the Art Museum of São Paulo and instigated the epony- mous Biennale five years later. At that time Scapinelli mixed with all the important paulista and worked for the most eminent city families

Afficher la biographie complète

Giuseppe Scapinelli was born in Modène in 1911. From a noble Italian family, he qualified as an architect in 1941. In 1948 he left Italy for São Paulo and worked as an architect for Francesco Matarazzo, an Italian/Brazilian businessman who in 1946 had founded the Art Museum of São Paulo and instigated the eponymous Biennale five years later. At that time Scapinelli mixed with all the important paulista and worked for the most eminent city families. In 1950 he founded his own agency and promoted modern style without however abandoning the classical principles he had assimilated in Italy. An article devoted to him in Casa & Jardin (no. 10, 1954) described him as ‘a classicist who remem- bers to be modern, or if you prefer, a modernist who does not forget to be classical.’ Even though his dynamic lines are influenced by the streamline industrial aesthetic, Giuseppe Scapinelli’s pieces, throughout his career, are characterized by execution of extremely high quality and craftsmanship.

In the mid 1950s Scapinelli opened the Margutta gallery and exhibited both his own and others’ creations. In his work, design perfectly transposes thought. Rigorous and precise, Giuseppe Scapinelli works in true harmony with his artisans most of whom are Italian expatriates.

His output, although individual and easily identifiable, nonetheless evokes the biomorphism of Carlo Mollino or the line of Isamu Noguchi; his table Agua is a perfect example of this. Scapinelli’s decorative work exudes sensuality. He plays with the expressive nature of wood – particularly the caviuna, his favourite species. His vigorous lines transcend utility and confer a sculptural dimension. His pieces retain the imprint of his original culture, lines and forms in his work recalling certain contemporary Italian creations.

Œuvres

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2019

Giuseppe Scapinelli (1891 – 1982)

Giuseppe Scapinelli est né à Modène en 1911. Issu d’une noble famille italienne, il est diplômé d’architecture en 1941. En 1948, il quitte l’Italie pour Sao Paulo et travaille alors comme architecte pour Francesco Matarazzo, homme d’affaires italo-brésilien qui fonde en 1946 le Musée d’art de Sao Paulo et la Biennale éponyme cinq ans plus tard. Scapinelli côtoie tous les importants paulista et travaille pour les plus grandes familles de la ville.

Afficher la biographie complète

Giuseppe Scapinelli est né à Modène en 1911. Issu d’une noble famille italienne, il est diplômé d’architecture en 1941. En 1948, il quitte l’Italie pour Sao Paulo et travaille alors comme architecte pour Francesco Matarazzo, homme d’affaires italo-brésilien qui fonde en 1946 le Musée d’art de Sao Paulo et la Biennale éponyme cinq ans plus tard. Scapinelli côtoie tous les importants paulista et travaille pour les plus grandes familles de la ville. En 1950, il fonde sa propre agence et promeut un style moderne sans pour autant oublier les principes classiques assimilés en Italie. Un article de Casa & Jardim (n° 10, 1954) qui lui est consacré le décrit ainsi : « un classique qui se rappelle être moderne – ou si vous préférez – un moderne qui n’oublie pas d’être classique.» Si ses lignes dynamiques sont influencées par l’esthétique industrielle de la streamline, Giuseppe Scapinelli propose tout au long de sa carrière des pièces d’une qualité d’exécution remarquable, propre à l’artisanat d’art.

Dans le milieu des années 1950, Scapinelli ouvre la galerie Margutta et expose alors ses propres créations comme celles d’autres artistes. Le dessin est chez lui une parfaite transposition de sa pensée. Rigoureux et précis, Giuseppe Scapinelli est en véritable harmonie avec ses artisans, dont la plupart sont des expatriés italiens.

Sa production singulière et facilement identifiable n’est pas sans rappeler le biomorphisme d’un Carlo Mollino ou le trait d’un Isamu Noguchi. La table Agua en est d’ailleurs le parfait exemple. Le répertoire décoratif de Scapinelli est empreint de sensualité. Il joue avec l’expressivité du bois, notamment grâce au caviuna, son essence préférée. Les lignes vigoureuses transcendent l’aspect utilitaire et mènent à une dimension sculpturale. Ses créations gardent l’empreinte de sa culture d’origine : lignes et formes ne sont pas sans rappeler certaines créations contemporaines italiennes.

Œuvres

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2018