François-Xavier Lalanne (1927-2008)

Born in 1927 in Agen, François-Xavier Lalanne studied at the Julian academy after the war. He abandons painting in 1952 as he meets his future wife, Claude. Their work in common started in 1956, even if each one also realizes independent works.

Afficher la biographie complète

Born in 1927 in Agen, François-Xavier Lalanne studied at the Julian academy after the war. He abandons painting in 1952 as he meets his future wife, Claude. Their work in common started in 1956, even if each one also realizes independent works. Their first common exhibition took place under the name ‘Zoophites’ in Gallery J of Jeanine Restany in 1964. The tone of their production is given. François-Xavier presents the ‘Rhinocrétaire’, the first rhinoceros desk in brass and Claude presents the ‘Choupattes’, half-cabbage half-animal. Begin then a long collaboration with the gallerist Alexandre Iolas, the big defender of surrealists and new-realistic.

The Lalanne share the feeling that sculpture, and more widely works of art, can have a function. All their atristic approach is based on the will to give back to sculpture a familiar dimension, a possible use. We look at it but we also touch it, we open it, we sit down on it, we stretch ou on it, we eat on it, we wear it around the neck … Nature, and more particularly the animal kingdom, offered them an infinity of recognizable forms to anybody. Sheeps, monkeys, rhinoceros, donkeys, camels, toads, hippopotamuses, cats… form a directory that the Lalanne subjects to the decorative art constraints with a lot of humor.

Among the most popular pieces : François Xavier’s sheeps. Alone or in herd, with or without head, sheathed or not with sheet fleece, they are seats or sofas. Also, a hippopotamus opens to become a bath, a baboon: fireplace, a rhinoceros and a donkey: desks…

Works

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2018

François-Xavier Lalanne (1927-2008)

Né en 1927 à Agen, François-Xavier Lalanne a fréquenté l’Académie Julian après la guerre. Il délaisse la peinture en 1952 au moment où il rencontre sa future femme, Claude. Leur travail en commun débute dès 1956, même si chacun réalise aussi des œuvres indépendantes.

Afficher la biographie complète

Né en 1927 à Agen, François-Xavier Lalanne a fréquenté l’Académie Julian après la guerre. Il délaisse la peinture en 1952 au moment où il rencontre sa future femme, Claude. Leur travail en commun débute dès 1956, même si chacun réalise aussi des œuvres indépendantes. Leur première exposition personnelle commune a lieu sous le titre « Zoophites » à la galerie J de Jeanine Restany en 1964. Le ton de leur production est donné. François-Xavier présente le Rhinocrétaire, premier rhinocéros bureau en laiton et Claude des Choupattes, mi-chou mi-animal. Commence ensuite une longue collaboration avec le galeriste Alexandre Iolas, grand défenseur des surréalistes et des nouveaux-réalistes.

Les Lalanne partagent le sentiment que la sculpture, et plus largement l’œuvre d’art, peut avoir une fonction. Toute leur carrière est basée sur la volonté de restituer à la sculpture une dimension familière, un éventuel usage. On la regarde mais on la touche aussi, on l’ouvre, on s’y assoit, on s’y allonge, on y mange, on la porte au cou… La nature, et plus particulièrement le monde animal, leur offre une infinité de formes reconnaissables par tous. Moutons, singes, rhinocéros, ânes, chameaux, crapauds, hippopotames, chats… constituent un répertoire que les Lalanne soumettent aux contraintes de l’art décoratif avec beaucoup d’humour.

Parmi les pièces les plus connues : les moutons de François-Xavier. Seuls ou en troupeau, avec ou sans tête, gainés ou pas de toison de mouton, ils sont sièges ou banquettes. De même, un hippopotame s’ouvre pour devenir baignoire, un babouin : cheminée, un rhinocéros et un âne : bureaux…

Œuvres

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2017