Ado Chale (1928 – )

Adolphe Pelsener said Ado Chale was born in 1928 in the popular district of Molenbeeck in Brussels. He spent his childhood in Pécrot in the Walloon Brabant countryside. Authentic self-taught man, he learns the forge and works in an advertising sheet metal factory.

Afficher la biographie complète

Adolphe Pelsener said Ado Chale was born in 1928 in the popular district of Molenbeeck in Brussels. He spent his childhood in Pécrot in the Walloon Brabant countryside. Authentic self-taught man, he learns the forge and works in an advertising sheet metal factory.

At the beginning, he hammers silver and creates jewels but also his first table tops trays in cement inlayed with small marcassites collected at the foot of the cliffs in the North of France. At the end of the 50’s, he really discovered mineralogy during a trip in Germany. In 1962, he opens with his wife, Huguette Schaal, their first gallery in Brussels, Livorno street. It is at that time that Adolphe Pelsener becomes Ado Chale.

From the end of the 60’s, Ado Chale researched semiprecious stones in every part of the world such as in Arizona, India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Madagascar or France … Stones that he discovered were inlayed in an epoxy resin, a new material that, at the the time was going to widen aesthetic possibilities: bigger tops, completely covered with stones polished with diamonds.

In 1967, Ado Chale participates in the World Exhibition of Montreal. He will exhibit in the European Pavillon a map of the Union without border completely covered with marcassites. The year after, Chale gallery moves in a private mansion of the avenue Louise completely rearranged by the architect André Jacqmain and whose facade, in sharp of diamond, was the work of the Belgian ceramist Pierre Culot. This gallery will attract a refined and varied clientele, from the Belgian aristocracy to the Prince of Arabia, including interior designers and collectors. All these people will make the fame of the artist.

Works

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2019

Ado Chale (1928 – )

Adolphe Pelsener dit Ado Chale est né en 1928 dans la quartier populaire de Molenbeeck au cœur de Bruxelles. Il passera son enfance à Pécrot dans la campagne du Brabant wallon. Authentique autodidacte, il se forme à la forge et travaille dans un atelier de tôlerie publicitaire.

Afficher la biographie complète

Adolphe Pelsener dit Ado Chale est né en 1928 dans la quartier populaire de Molenbeeck au cœur de Bruxelles. Il passera son enfance à Pécrot dans la campagne du Brabant wallon. Authentique autodidacte, il se forme à la forge et travaille dans un atelier de tôlerie publicitaire.

A ses débuts, il martèle l’argent et crée des bijoux mais surtout les premiers plateaux de table en ciment incrustés de petites marcassites ramassées aux pieds des falaises du nord de la France. A la fin des années 50, il découvre réellement la minéralogie lors d’un voyage en Allemagne. En 1962, il ouvre avec son épouse, Huguette Schaal, leur première galerie à Bruxelles, rue de Livourne. C’est à cette époque qu’Adolphe Pelsener devient Ado Chale.

Dès la fin des années 60, Ado Chale part à la recherche de pierres semi-précieuses aux quatre coins du monde comme en Arizona,en Inde, en Afghanistan, au Pakistan, à Madagascar ou en France… Les pierres qu’il découvrira seront incrustées dans une résine époxy, matière nouvelle à l’époque qui va élargir les possibilités esthétiques : plateaux plus grands, entièrement couverts de pierres polies au diamants.

En 1967, Ado Chale participe à l’exposition universelle de Montréal. Il exposera dans le Pavillon de L’Europe une carte sans frontière de l’Union entièrement couverte de marcassites. L’année d’après, la galerie Chale déménage dans un hôtel particulier de l’avenue Louise entièrement repensé par l’architecte André Jacqmain et dont la façade, en pointe de diamant, était l’œuvre du céramiste belge Pierre Culot. Cette galerie attirera une clientèle aussi pointue que variée, de l’aristocratie belge au Prince d’Arabie, en passant par des architectes d’intérieur et des collectionneurs. Toutes ces personnes feront la renommée de l’artiste.

Œuvres

© Galerie Chastel-Maréchal, 2017